Global Posts
    17 Global Posts
    Hi Everybody,

I wonder i someone could take the time to help me out. I'm new to handhelds and not very hip to connectivity issues. I have 2 main questions. Please excuse if they sound retarded..

1.) What is the main difference between the 270 and the 300? I guess the heart of that query is what is the difference between GPRS & CDMA, right?

2.) Is there any way to sent and recieive attachments on the Treos?

Thanks in advance....
    Global Posts
    17 Global Posts
    Please???
    1.) What is the main difference between the 270 and the 300? I guess the heart of that query is what is the difference between GPRS & CDMA, right?
    The main difference between the two is that GPRS works on the GSM networks of (in US) Cingular and Voicestream networks. And the new CDMA phone will work on Sprint's PCS 3G network.
    These networks vary in performance around the country, so you could be in an area where GSM is better than the new 3G network and vice-versa.
    It isn't a very technical explanation, but I'm sure someone else can offer you one. (more qualified than me

Hopefully, it answers your question and it's correct.....

As far as #2, hopefully someone who actually has the Treo and has done this can help.
    Global Posts
    17 Global Posts
    Thanks R, I'll take any help I can get...
    I believe MultiMail Pro and Iambic mail allow you to send and receive attachments. It has nothing to do with the device (Treo). You can use any Palm OS mail client with the unit. There are a couple of them out there.
    Your question is actually...what is the difference between GSM and CDMA. The easy answer is...they are two differnt cellular networks. GSM is the european standard. GSM is not as popular here but is quickly on the rise and most carriers will probably switch in the years to come. GSM carriers in the US include VoiceStream and Cingular. (Cingular is GSM in California).