webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  Palm OS Devices & Apps > Windows 7 64-Bit Drivers for Palm Treo 680
Windows 7 64-Bit Drivers for Palm Treo 680
Like Tree3Likes

Old 01/01/2010, 04:48 AM   #1 (permalink)

I have been using a Palm Treo 680 for the past 2 years. I recently upgraded by laptop to Windows 7 64-bit. The OS is not recognizing the Palm Treo 680. Where can I find drivers for this?
murthy.ranjit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/25/2010, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by murthy.ranjit View Post
I have been using a Palm Treo 680 for the past 2 years. I recently upgraded by laptop to Windows 7 64-bit. The OS is not recognizing the Palm Treo 680. Where can I find drivers for this?
I know this is an old post but here's what found out recently:

- USB HotSync is not suppored in Windows 7 64-bit.
- One has to use Bluetooth to sync
- Some users claimed to have success using XP Mode. You'll need XP Pro and higher and a processor that supports virtualization

I also started to look into SplashID and it seems that the latest versions support Windows 7. It was not clearly stated that 64-bit is supported but I guess that just depends on how you HotSynch (Bluetooth instead of USB).

If you found anything new please post as well. I know my Treo 680 is pretty old but I just don't feel like upgrading yet.
Sprinter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08/21/2010, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

As I stated in another thread, I HotSync to Windows Vista Home Premium 64 bit/Palm Desktop 6.2 via Bluetooth (USB is not supported).

Installing the Palm Desktop was a major pain, but once it was installed, it worked just fine. I don't know for sure, but I don't think it was written to work with the new security paradigm of Vista, specifically the User Account Control feature.

Here is the process I used. It involves:

- changing the user account that will use the Palm Desktop to an Administrator,

- install using that account,

- perform one HotSync as that user,