1.    #1  
    I am a recent Visor Deluxe owner that is looking for what other attorneys are using on there visors. I use an iMac at home and Windows 98 at work. However I am not necessarily needing to sync everything that may be useful. I am particularly looking for a stripped down case manager that I could use for court. I am a very busy public defender (400 to 500 felony cases a year) and need to be able to update things while in court. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
    I'm an attorney as well. However, I do civil work, and don't have the caseload you describe, so I haven't looked into any type of case management software. There are Palm OS database programs, like HandDbase, but I haven't had occasion to use them.

Here's what I do use that is arguably legal-related:

1. Wordsmith - best word processor for the Palm OS, IMHO. Integrates nicely with MS Word, so it's very easy to get stuff from your work PC - witness lists, briefs, etc - into your Visor. I'm not a Mac guy, so I can't say if the program also works with your home computer. If you plan to do word processing directly on the unit, a Stowaway keyboard is a must.

I also usually have a full set of the pertinent rules (of procedure and evidence) on the handheld - I use Wordsmith to read them, but any doc reader will do.

2. The built in apps, of course: Calendar, obviously, to track court dates, case deadlines, meetings, etc., Contacts for self-explanatory reasons.

3. Pocket Journal, from Chapura (www.chapura.com), which synchs with MS Outlook's Journal - helps me track phone calls, unreturned voicemail, meetings, etc.

4. Internet - in theory, I'm set up to access Westlaw wirelessly using my cell phone. In practice I've never had to do it - it's so much more pleasant to do it .

5. Email - I use multimail, works great.

The only site I've found that is directed at lawyers is "PDA JD," which frankly is so-so. Check it out anyway at http://www.pdajd.com/vertical/home.xml