Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I've had the Palm Centro (Sprint) since it came out and I've really gotten accustomed to the Palm OS. It seems to have a boatload of apps that other operating systems don't offer. My question is concerning the future of the Palm OS and whether any new phones are on the horizon. I get the feeling all the concentration is going to be with their Web OS and that the Palm OS is going away. Does anyone have any insight or opinions on this?
    The Palm future will be all WebOS. The EOS will be the Centro/680 replacement and once the rough edges are smoothed from WebOS, they won't need Windows for the business end of the market
    Palm has officially announced there will be no new PalmOS devices. The Centro is the last device. I have purchased a spare on eBay because I do not want to be left without this phone and OS (that I have been using since 1996)!
    Hear more talk about my Centro and other industry news, go to thecellphonejunkie.com for a great weekly cell & smartphone podcast.
    We can only hope and wait for the Jap company that bought the Palm software to keep it going. I don't know who it is, and just heard about it a few months back. So Palm doesn't even own the Palm we know.
    Access
    Quote Originally Posted by fstopstigmata View Post
    Access

and they basically also have abandoned the OS as well in favor of ALP.
    Why spend the money to buy it, then? Thanks for ruining that hope fstop!
    Global Posts
    605 Global Posts
    No more Garnet devices from Palm is a definite. I'm also not counting counting on any future WinMob Palm devices OR even a WM6.5 update to the Treo Pro (a big mistake IMO).