1.    #1  
    I have a friend who has the same Verizon Centro as me, however he did not go with a monthly internet plan because he had no intention of using email or the web.

He got his first bill and was charged for web usage, even though he swears he never went on the web or used email.

Since I have the unlimited data plan, I have no experience with this.

Can anyone provide some possibilities as to how/why he is incurring data usage and being charged for it?
    Quote Originally Posted by AlbanyHDTV View Post
    I have a friend who has the same Verizon Centro as me, however he did not go with a monthly internet plan because he had no intention of using email or the web.

He got his first bill and was charged for web usage, even though he swears he never went on the web or used email.

Since I have the unlimited data plan, I have no experience with this.

Can anyone provide some possibilities as to how/why he is incurring data usage and being charged for it?
    Has he used "Google maps"? My daugher used it and said "Dad, it does not use the internet..."

BUT IT DOES!
    Also Pocket Express (On Demand), My Centro (My Treo), Software, and probably a whole lot more.

George
    Global Posts
    605 Global Posts
    PTunes and, I believe, DTG will also perioridally connect online to search for updated/newer versions of those apps. PTunes Deluxe will also prompt you to download streaming radio stations as well.

I'd personally either go ahead and pony up for a data plan OR call VZW CS and tell them that you politey request they lock out all data transfers from that device's ESN on the account. Although I think I read somewhere recently that they frown on doing that nowadays since data surcharges comprise such a healthy chunk of their revenue stream.