Global Posts
    13 Global Posts
    I am a newbie here so please bear with me. I am interested in upgrading to a Palm Centro. I am not interested in having a data plan for my phone since I have 2 laptops, a desktop and a work 'puter. Anyhoo......the gal at Verizon at Verizon (my carrier) told me that I should buy a data plan as the Centro is known to accidentally connect to the web and then I will get charged by the kb and could run up a huge bill. Am I being fleeced here? Any help would be appreciated. I only want to use my Palm as a program and document appliance, such as taking notes and using my Bible program.
    Unless you launch apps that use network (web, email which would actually require setting up an account, On Demand, Instant Messaging, etc) it shouldn't matter. But yeah you might have to be a little careful as to what apps you launch.
    I wouldn't worry to much about getting a data plan. I have a treo 600 that I never used a data plan for and I am getting the Centro in a couple weeks though verizon without a data plan. Just take the time to understand your phone and what it can do so you won't have to worry about being charged. Might want to find a different verizon rep to talk to also. She is just trying to make money off you in my opinion.
    Global Posts
    160 Global Posts
    I would think they could disable the data on the account. I'm with Sprint and when my cousin kept "accidentally" downloading ringtones I had them cut off all access from their system. His phone wouldn't phone access the internet at all even when I tried afterwards.

There's got to be something on their end that they can do.
    I always set up my treo's to "Ask Before Connecting" in the prefs.That should give you some warning as to whether an app is going to tap into your data plan.
    Global Posts
    13 Global Posts