1.    #1  
    Hi. Not only am I a palm newbie, I'm also a smartphone newbie. So far I like my new phone (Verizon service) but I've come across some hiccups. This forum has proven helpful, but I still have some confusion. I apologize up front for my lack of knowledge and niavete. Please be patient w/ me ...

First up, the hot sync. My OS is VISTA. Hot Sync is not completing properly and no information is transferred b/t pc and phone. I can't quote the exact error message right now b/c I don't have the cable/cradle w/ me. But its something along the lines of a database file could not be found (error code: 4004). I referenced this site and another and tried to download dbscan.prc. I can download it to my pc but all it wants to do is send it to my palm in a hot sync ... which isn't working. I don't have unlimited web service for my phone so I did not try dl-ing directing to the phone. Help?

So this leads me looking into the microSD cards. I need a microSD 101 lesson. I think a 2GB card will be sufficient for me (just want to sync contacts and transfer photo files), but how does it interface to my computer if the pc does not have an SD/flash slot? Is there some sort of USB adapter I can buy? And once I have a card, is it intuitive to transfer files and contacts? Does my pc treat the card as a drive?

I promise I'm not a computer novice ... just a smartphone (and all that goes w/ it) rookie.

Thaaaaaaaaaanks!
    Not sure on your hotsync issue.

For the Micro SD card I would go ahead and get a 4GB. Memory is cheap. I just picked up a Sandisk 4GB on eBay for under $20. It will come with an SD adapter that you can use to transfer files to your PC if you have an SD reader. Otherwise there is also software you can load on your Centro that will allow you to transfer files through the sync cable without removing the Micro SD card. I don't have the name of this program, but someone here will chime in.

Have fun w/ your new Centro!
    Palm Centro (Sprint)