1.    #1  
    Last nite, I prepared to backup my 680 in the normal way, with an SD card & NV Backup....and the card seemed to go into the slot a little oddly, and presto! Now the card cannot be recognized. I get a message asking if I want to format the card! So, thinking perhaps this particular card got damaged, I try another SD card, and the very same message appears! So, is my slot damaged, or would a brand-new SD card allow me to back up? I do this on a daily basis, as I believe more is backed up in this way than synching with my computer, which I also do, of course.
  2.    #2  
    Well, since no one answered, I tried a new card. It's definitely the slot. Now - since I don't want to buy a new 680 at this point, am I safe in backing up to the computer exclusively? Does that back EVERYTHING up, as the card backup would? Anyone?
    I'm no expert here, but from everything I've read, no, the sync doesn't back up EVERYTHING, just data. Programs, settings, preferences, etc. don't get backed up.
    Quote Originally Posted by GerryL View Post
    I'm no expert here, but from everything I've read, no, the sync doesn't back up EVERYTHING, just data. Programs, settings, preferences, etc. don't get backed up.
    Now I'm no expert, but hotsync backup does backup more than just data. It backs up NEARLY everything, certainly including all programs (applications). There are a few items it does not, and although I don't know the details about what and why, there are other posts on this topic elsewhere which informed me a while back about "SyncAll". It tells hotsync to backup every single database. Read more about it here:
    http://www.freewarepalm.com/communication/syncall.shtml
    -- Josh
  5.    #5  
    Thanks all. I thought that hot synch didn't back EVERYTHING up, as an SD card backup with NV Backup would. Now I've got a real problem to contend with, as my card slot is kaput.