1.    #1  
    so, I'm new to this palm world. I've decided that I want to buy something that enhances the looks of my centro, and have narrowed it down to takephone and treo launcher. I can't for the life of me figure out what the differences are. I think takephone is just something to be used as a contact organizer, whereas treo launcher is something that replaces the user interface of the palm os. despite this, they both look the same to me. are there any real distinctions between the two?
    TakePhone is a contact enhancement app that is the best you'll find out there. Treo Launcher is just that "Launcher". In that light you are kind of conparing apples to oranges. I would more likely compare TakePhone to Ultimate Phone as they are both built on similar concepts but TakePhone blows UP away in functionality and interface. Treo Launcher I would compare to either Intiate or Zlauncher. They are replacements for the standard palm Launcher. I personally think Initiate (by hobbyistsoftware) is the best out there but it takes some getting use to. Another reason to try Initiate is that the developer has a challenge that if you try it for a week and don't like it, he will give you 20% off any other launcher, so it might make sense to start there. www.hobbyistsoftware.com

So in summary you may want to consider getting both a contact management app like takePhone as well as a launcher app. If you'd rather not spend the money, TP does come with iBar plugin that allows you to use it as a launcher. So i would go for that instead. Be sure to give any app your interested in a test drive before you buy any on them TP gives you 30 days full functionality (you may never ant to give it back afterwards) and most other good apps give you at least a week or just occasionally nag you to register. Sorry for the long post (got carried away). Good luck!!
  3.    #3