1.    #1  
    Hi, I lost my 700p today. I've got insurance through Sprint so I have to pay $50 non-refundable to get a reconditioned 700p. That's what they say I'll get. Or I can get $150 off a new phone with a new 2-year contract. I'm on a SERO plan. I love my 700p unlike many comments I've read here. Mine always worked well. But I'm concerned the replacement may not.

Anyway I've never used the insurance before and could use advice. What should I do?

Hoping a good samaritan will return my loved one,

Kelly
    Claim, reload and move on--I hope you've a good backup, preferably on an SD card. Mine (VZW) became unusable and I did the same thing and got a better unit. Also kept my accessories (battery, stylus, charger); figured for the $50, I deserved them and never heard peep--I think they expect not to get them back.

Good luck.

David
    Global Posts
    788 Global Posts
    dont buy another 1
    M505 -> M515 -> Kyo6035 -> Kyo 7135 -> Treo 600 ->Treo 650 -> Treo 700P -> Treo 700 WX -> Samsung Saga VZW
  4.    #4  
    Thanks. I feel a little less shakey today. Finding an alarm clock last night was a challenge. But I'm up and thinking about moving on. I synced about 10 days ago so that's not too bad.

Of course, I never backed up on an SD card because I knew I'd never lose the phone. Have you heard that before?

Thanks again.

Kelly
    Lesson for others: not only do you back up to a card (it also helps if you install a bad program that forces a hard reset of your phone) but you have it upload to an ftp server after backup and then a lost phone will not cause a signification loss of data.
    Global Posts
    56 Global Posts
    I see many posts about backing up to the card and such, and I can see the value of it. But why do I never see anyone talk about syncing to the computer? Doesn't that create an automatic backup? When I've had to do hard resets, it's been no problem, because I sync frequently, and there's my backup, sitting right there on the computer.