1.    #1  
    i'm an IT consultant (ok ok... ppl pay me to fix their computer problems!lol) and i have a client who just purchased a treo650 and wants me to transfer all their PIM data from the old PDA to her new 650

believe it or not... i've never done that before!

so - i'm asking the experts!

YOU!!

here's what we've got - a fully functional w2k laptop (the original computer) and the PDA and the palm desktop software - all work fine as far as i know

and a new Vista (ugh!) laptop - and a brandy-spankin-new t650 (sprint)

all topped off with a recent hotsync from the PDA and its accompanying Palm folder in the w2k laptop

so the question is... what files/folders/etc do i need to transfer FROM the w2k laptop to the Vista laptop - ???

thanks in advance!!!
    What model Treo PDA?

If it has infrared beaming. . . . . I would beam the PIM data over in mass to the Treo. (Select beam by "category" then "all" as you beam the data from each PIM . . . .Memos Contacts Tasks Appointments.) Then I would install the 650 disk to the Laptop and do a hot sync. The PIM data should now be on the Palm desktop on the laptop. Third party apps should be added fresh.

Otherwise:

Do a last hot sync of the PDA on the w2k pc.
    Install the 650 desktop there.
    Do a clean install just as far as the PIM data onto the Treo.
    http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...05&postcount=1

Install the 650 desktop on the laptop.
    Hot sync the Treo.
    The PIM info should now be on the laptop.
    Add third party apps.

Vista could be a problem -- you may need to search out the Vista Palm Desktop Beta release.
    Last edited by gtwo; 02/14/2008 at 08:12 PM.