1.    #1  
    I just got a used GSM Treo 650...I don't know what other info you will need.

ok so i have done allot of reading on the subject of custom ROM.
    I have my ROM backed up using the www.grack.com Rom Tool.
    I am not experienced enough to just go start striping down my own ROM yet, so I wanted to just use one someone else already created.

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...&postcount=195
    I found this one, and was wondering if it will work for my phone?
    also can i install it using the Rom Tool, of do i have to do the SD card method?

thanks for the help, I have done allot of reading on my own, and just need to check before I proceed. If this ROM won't work, where can i get one that will?
  2.    #2  
    well i tried them, and it said they don't have a boot file, or something, so i guess they have to be installed via sd card?

dose anyone know where i can get a already striped custom ROM?
    Global Posts
    591 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thesteve151 View Post
    well i tried them, and it said they don't have a boot file, or something, so i guess they have to be installed via sd card?dose anyone know where i can get a already striped custom ROM?
    I always do my own stripping, so I havent really looked into the custom ones like these, but anything that was posted that recently by James should definitely be loadable by the ROM Tool.

At what point are you getting this message about the lack of a boot file?

Good to know you have a got a back-up. For my ROM modifications,
    I always do changes in block fashion (eg remove all non-english language files), and then check that the changes dont cause any problem, before moving onto the next block.

For each block of changes, I set up one master folder, into which Iput

* a back-up of the existing ROM b4 the mod
    * a folder with any files Ive added
    * a folder with any files Ive deleted