1.    #1  
    anyone know any cool shortcuts or tricks to access comming applications quickly or anything cool that most people might not know about?

im new to smartphones and dont understand a few things about them.

for one, from the dial screen when i entered a number to call, i did not see any indication message that i could save this number as a new contact... i think ive tried pressing menu to see if it might be in there but after a certain period of time the number erases itself... this was particularly frustrating last night because i didnt have that number written down anywhere.

anyways.

any cool tricks or cool free software would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.
    I'm not sure there is any way of saving a number you just enter without dialing. But once you dial, you can go to your phone log any time later (unless you purge your numbers) and any number you select there you can press menu to "Add Contact" and it will go into your phone book.
    Here's some of my quick & free goodies for my 680 ...

#1 Single Button Launcher - Allows app keys to be programmed with up to 5 other programs. Hold down the selected button and it scrolls thru the list until you let go. The Treos are a bit short on hard keys due to have 2 devices in one, but this baby keeps your most used apps only one button press away.

#2 Keyguard Time - Hold down center button and get a big clock, battery, and memory info etc. Let go and it returns to the work at hand. Stable and customizable.

#3 FieldPlus - Allows 5-way text selection for cut/paste. No stylus needed. This is soooo handy. Palm really does need to step up to the plate here. A little work could make non-stylus operations like this much better.

#4 Scrolljump - Allows holding down of D-pad to jump a page at a time or line at a time. Quiet handy for getting down a big list fast without stylus or scrollbar us.