View Poll Results: Would you use the calculator software described below?

Voters
13. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yup.

9 69.23%
  • Nope.

4 30.77%
  1.    #1  
    I'm a college student, and I see a trend. Virtually every high school and college student in the nation is required to buy a calculator--generally a TI-83, TI-86, or TI-89, depending on the level of the class (and the competence of the instructor). I personally use a TI-92, which offers a full QWERTY and overpowered math functions.

The price of Visor PDAs is dropping steadily--soon a student could concievably buy a Visor and the (about to be proposed) graphing calculator module/software and get a reasonably full-featured computer and calculator for around the price of a TI-89 or 92.

So, here's the module I'm proposing.
    --Powerful calculator with algebraic or RPN equation entry
    --Graffiti interface with optional on-screen buttons or menus
    --Symbol manipulation (for manipulating -equations- and variables, rather than numbers)
    --Fast, powerful graphing, with zoom and trace features
    --Extensive array of units (which are manipulated right in the equations, thanks to symbol manipulation)
    --Powerful statistics functions
    --Open plug-in architecture for adding functions (say, differential equations, or engineering-specific stuff)
    --Emulation of "feel" of popular calculators, so when a teacher walks a student through doing something on a TI-83, they can follow along on their Visor
    --POSSIBLY interpretation of programs from other calculators (though this may hit copyright issues)
    --Communication with other calculators via serial port, including swapping and conversion of variable formats.
    (The data interchange formats and protocols for both TI and HP calcs are well-known...you could slap a Graph-Link cable onto the end of your serial cradle or cable, for example, and talk to TIs.)