1.    #1  
    Hi guys, I'm somewhat new to the whole updating/tweaking a 650...but i was reading a ROM tip

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...d.php?t=147767

and was wondering what this does exactly? free up space? does it make my treo faster?

I've recently been trying to get my 650 as fast as i can because loading pictures is soooooooooooooooo slow and it hurts to wait...

also is there a faster webbrowser i should be using? thanks!
  2.    #2  
    and also, i just updated my phone from whatever it first had to 1.13...should i notice any improvements?
    Quote Originally Posted by dtoxic View Post
    Hi guys, I'm somewhat new to the whole updating/tweaking a 650...but i was reading a ROM tip

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...d.php?t=147767
    I'd suggest starting here.

and was wondering what this does exactly? free up space? does it make my treo faster?
    Removing unneeded components will free up RAM (Dynamic Heap & DBCache). Unless you re-size the ROM partition as well you won't gain any NVFS space (where programs are installed), and there are basically only three sizes there to choose from (7.1MB, 8.4MB, and 9.8MB). However, repartitioning is more risky than just using the RomTool and will only net you a MB or two more.

The main benefit I see is to cut away things I don't use or need so that my phone has more working RAM space and graft in support for a few new things (bigger SD cards, mainly).

What branding is your current 650? Who is your service provider?

I've recently been trying to get my 650 as fast as i can because loading pictures is soooooooooooooooo slow and it hurts to wait...