Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    UPDATE - July 16, 2007 - Palm has released an official fix for this issue, and has politely asked me to remove these files. I have done so, and redirected the link to the official solution.

http://www.palm.com/us/support/downl...e/verizon.html

This page now contains instructions on how to download the official VersaMail update.

Thank you Palm for your professionalism and courtesy, as well as your prompt response.

======ORIGINAL POST======

GOOD NEWS! I came up with a homebrew fix that works on my Treo. (9 month old Verizon 700P upgraded to the 1.10 ROM.) Please take this with the requisite grain of salt. I'm not a programmer. I am a sysadmin who is pretty technical, and really, really persistent.

The solution is to upgrade VersaMail from 3.5.1 to 3.5.4. This is much easier said than done. Below are the steps I followed. They're kinda messy, but I got it working. I would recommend adhering the them as closely as possible. If you do something different, it may work, but your mileage may vary.

1. Download this file and decompress it to a folder on your SD card. Trying to install these files over HotSync will fail miserably. Don't waste your time. I don't mean this to sound snooty, but if you don't know how to un-RAR a file, you probably shouldn't be messing around replacing system files on your device.
    2. Also download and unzip FileZ onto the card. You only need FileZ.prc on the card. If you already had it installed, or if you prefer another file manager, knock yourself out. You have to delete and overwrite some system files, so some file manager apps might not work.
    3. Restore the last backup you did before upgrading the device. You DID back it up, didn't you?