http://www.PimlicoSoftware.com/dbfixit-v10h. zip
    there is also a web page at:
    http://www.PimlicoSoftware.com/dbfixit.htm

This is a utility I have been working on for several months which is
    designed to detect and repair all kinds of errors in Palm OS
    databases. It knows the structure of both the traditional and
    proprietary Palm OS/PalmOne PIM databases and looks for all possible
    errors in those databases. It then allows you in almost all cases to
    selectively fix those errors without losing any valid data.

Among other things, DbFixIt will fix the known "Huge Contacts
    Database" bug - whereby corrupt Blobs can swell up the contacts
    database to enormous sizes (I've seen contacts databases as large as
    45Mb where 98% of all the data was completely junk(!). DbFixIt will
    clean up those errors without losing any valid data. This problem
    occurs due to both a bug in Palm's software and corruption of the
    database itself.

It will also scan any Palm OS database with a type of 'DATA' and look
    for generic errors such as NIL chunks, or duplicate Unique ID's and
    correct those problems. Such errors can easily crash an application
    or cause it to function erratically. For example, if you have an
    application that serves up the WRONG record after a global find,
    this may well be because you have duplicate unique ID's in the
    database. DbFixIt will locate any records with duplicate ID's and re-
    create them with a new ID.

DbFixIt is a shareware application at $12.95. HOWEVER, in the
    unregistered form it will run and detect errors so it is useful in
    its unregistered form. But only registered versions will then go in
    and fix those errors. As with DateBk6, all the profits from the sale
    of this product go to our wildlife conservation efforts...

NOTE: this is a new utility and while it has been tested by several
    users, we do expect to see some unusual problems crop up that will