Hi All,

I live in Europe, I have a Treo 650 which is unlocked, working, but totally unreliable because of the power circuit which probably has a crack/loose contact at mainboard level; not really traceable and the phone can drop out at any time...
    So I bought a parts Treo from ebay, it's a Verizon Treo. I was able to repair it with the old phone but I noticed it does not provide for a regular SIM-card to be inserted. Living in Europe I have no experience with the Verizon provider and their network, we don't have it overhere.
    So I already exchanged the SIM doughterboard from my old Treo so I can Insert my old SIM-card. Hardwarewise it should be a 'normal' treo now, but still have the Verizon firmware. Can anyone tell me how this 'verizon' works without SIM-cards? Am I even on the right track?

Thanks for any info,

Gerrit
    Last edited by grit; 04/06/2007 at 12:11 PM. Reason: typo
    I think you're out of luck. Your Verizon 650 includes hardware (and software) for accessing CDMA phone networks. It doesn't include hardware for interacting with GSM phone networks, which are used in most of the world (including all of Europe).
    On the software side, he could always flash the Treo with a GSM ROM, but on the hardware side, Verizon doesn't support GSM and doesn't use SIM cards.
    I exchanged the hardware module with my old one, providing use for normal SIM-cards, I've looked at the boards and the rest looks very - very similar. So now i should get a normal GSM rom somewhere? I have the romtool installed and working already. The SD-card always quits the update process somehow.
    Last edited by grit; 04/06/2007 at 01:31 PM.
    Grit just use the romtool to flash the rom to the gsm rom. it will work fine. I have helped several people convert cdma motherboards to gsm. the daughterboard it the whole radio.
    PalmIII > PalmIIIx > PalmIIIxe > TRGPro > Handera 330 > Zire71 > Treo600 > Treo650 > Treo680 > Treo750 > Centro > TreoPro > iPhone 32GB 3GS