1.    #1  
    My company has very strict email policies and only supports Blackberry/Lotus Notes. They do not even offer a web-based email solution - everything must pass through a vpn/firewall. I work remotely and connect on my corp-issued laptop thru a VPN connection which uses RSA cards. I have been using a Treo 650 for 2 years now and I will not trade it for a b.berry nor do I want to carry 2 devices (the treo is big enough).

Since I have admin rights on my laptop (which is rare), I was able to install Cingular's Xpress Mail client. It did as promised and fetched my email from behind the firewall, forwarding it to my Treo 650. I was happy. But then I started to get nervous. Can my IT dept "see" that I am using a redirector? My company is very large so there must be tons and tons of internet traffic coming through every second, but I am wondering if the xpress mail data packets or the cingular server address could set off IT alarms somewhere. Has anyone been "caught" using xpress mail? How sophisticated are the traffic monitoring systems for big IT departments? If anyone has any experience or insider knowledge I would really appreciate the feedback. Thanks!
    I personally do not think they will notice. I am a Network Administrator and that type of traffic is not important. The only type I monitor is where users visit and the bandwidth of usage.

Xpress Mail actually will only send a connection to a certain site for it to send your email out. Not sure which site but I don't see a issue on why they would have a problem with this at all.

The best thing to do is ASK them about it. I would think they would be resonable about it.
  3.    #3