1.    #1  
    http://www.palm.com/us/support/downl...st_palmos.html

do we need to do this? My phone sets the time off the Verizon network...so shouldn't it update automatically? and therefore no need for patch?
    Who knows... I installed it anyways.
    Global Posts
    340 Global Posts
    Probably. It would not surprise me (I have no direct knowledge) to find out that we're just getting time from an NTP server via the network. If that's the case, then yeah, the phone needs to know when DST changes are so that it can take the UTC time from the network and translate it into "normal" time. W/o the patch, your Treo thinks DST changes at the wrong time, so your time would be off.

It's a logic leap, but the fact that Palm had to push out a patch like this seems to indicate the likelihood of my guess being at least on the right ballpark.

Someone with a better knowledge of how cell networks run want to chime in? I have to go install DST patches on computers I support here...
    Global Posts
    113 Global Posts
    Does anyone know whether or not it's safe to delete the installer after the patch is installed and I get the 'successfull update message'?
    Last edited by qb11g; 02/22/2007 at 12:47 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by qb11g View Post
    Does anyone whether or not it's safe to delete the installer after the patch is installed and I get the 'successfull update message'?
    Don't know for sure, but I saw that a poster in another thread here on TC deleted it after installing.
    I deleted the installer on both my 650 and 700p and the devices still remained alive. I did the installation, though here in Honolulu, Hi we do not mess with DST.

Ben