1.    #1  
    Hmmm.... I think I am going to post this on every board I can find so that as many people see this and choose another type of phone.

So here's my problem...

I have a Verizon Treo 650 which I have been using for about a year and a half.
    Prior to that I used a Treo 600... and before that a Palm 7135 Kyocera.
    So I am not a newbie to Palm.

Today I attempted to do the firmware upgrade to Verizon 1.05a... big mistake!!!
    Phone looped into a E911 upgrade failure although I followed the instructions to the tee on the Palm website.

After about 2-3 hours of attempting to reboot, reflash, or whatever I could I finally called Verizon who gave me to Palm tech support. Tech support worked with me for almost an hour attempting everything to revieve my phone.
    Well they can't so anything.
    I was told some phones had issues with the update but mine doesn't show to be a problem.
    My phone had sofware 1.01a software with a Mar 2005 build_75.

Here's the best part....
    They want $199 for a refurbished phone... but after my explaining it should not be my fault ( I followed their instructions perfectly) they offered my a 50% discount to $100.

So let me get this straight Palm.
    All the Treo sites announce your upgrade...
    I come to your site and follow your instructions which ruins my phone...
    And now you want $100 to fix it.

Hmmm... now that's a money maker!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Goodbye Palm!!!

Dissatisfied x-Palm user
    Case # 1-166359236

(off to post on every board I can find)
    Call Verizon support. Tell them what happened, that you contacted Palm and have a case number, and that Palm acknowledges that the update destroyed your phone. I would think that Verizon would replace your phone.

BTW, had you done a search in the forum prior to updating your phone, you would have seen that many people have had the same issue if their prior firmware was not 1.04.

-B
  3.    #3  
    I appreciate your advice... thanks.