Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I'm a mechanical/electrical/computer/nuclear engineer. I have about 11 years experience in Statistical tools and some advanced techniques.

Here you will find a Taguchi DOE (Design of Experiment), using five different factors at 2 levels each. The five factors are: Bluetooth (off/on), Beam Receive (off/on), GPRS Network Connection (not connected/connected), Camera (after cradle reset: not used/used) and Sound (off or vibrate/on).

The test involved setting the phone to the proper settings, charging to full charge (Green light on and reading 100%), then an in crade reset, continued charging until full charge shown, switching phone on, then disconnecting. Periodic checks and records of the time, % charge and the voltage level were made.

A Taguchi L8 array was used for the analysis. While the L8 can record and work with up to 8 factors, only 5 of the columns were used. At least 3 consistant readings were used for the data in the matrix. Under some configurations, longer times were required to achieve a reasonable reduction in battery charge.

01/16/2007

A few notes on the Experiment:

All software removed by hard reset prior to expeiment with only battery graph added
    Screen backlighting was set to one step above the lowest setting
    No Phone Calls were made or received during the test
    Auto Off was set to 15 sec, dim set to 30 sec
    Date and Time Synch set to manual (I should have made this a factor)
    Data Was taken using Battery Graph and recorded in an Excel Spreadsheet
    Prior to running the tests, all manner of resets, including an extended charge with the SIM out, were tried
    Prior to each test, the battery was charged until the light turned green and read 100%. At this point, the battery was removed to reset the Treo 680 while still connected to power, then replaced and the unit was allowed to charge to green/100% before each experiment was started.