1.    #1  
    Hi everyone- I'm new to treo (to smartphones in general), and to this forum, so please forgive me if these issues have been mentioned, but I didn't see them.

I have been toying with the idea of a smartphone for a few years... I use my Palm so much, that I figured treo made more sense than a blackberry, etc- but I didn't feel like changing carriers (i have tmobile). Finally just saw that the 680 comes unlocked, so I snapped it up.

My first impressions are pretty good, but a few little things
    -I kind of miss the palm graffiti- the tiny keyboard is a little hard to type on (and I have small hands)- hopefully it just takes practice.
    -I think the fact that you can't use MP3 ringtones without paying for 3rd party software is ridiculous
    -I guess I assumed it would have push email like a blackberry, but it doesn't. Bummer.

Haven't had it long enough to comment on battery life, which seems to be a common complaint.

But here's where I need some help, and the palm support forums are down.

1: the phone button (that is not user-assignable) is opening the calendar app, not the phone app. I don't know how to fix this, and it's annoying.

2: a minor one- anyone know of a way to assign the home/applications button? I'd rather it open the launcher I like than the palm launcher.

and the big problem:
    3: I am not receiving my texts. I get an alert that I have received a text, with options like OK, Go To, Reply, Call.
    If I say OK, it goes back to what i was doing.
    If I say Go To, I get a blank white screen. I have to push another button to get out of the app.

But either way- when I go to the Messaging app- there is no message there.

Help!

First I tried upgrading from my palm TX by syncing everything over- that just caused problems. So I did a hard reset, and synced just my data (addresses, calendar etc). At this point, the phone button and texts were working fine. Then I bought/downloaded/installed the main programs that I use.