1.    #1  
    I'm new to Treo 680, having suffered a year with 650.

1. camera much much better quality (if still not great). And VIDEO!!

2. feels lighter. feels smaller (though it's really not). buttons feel better. screen dial pad MUCH easier to use (my fingers were too large for the 650).

3. software "feels" more robust. No more hard resets/reboots.

4. Data Viz Documents to Go is surprisingly agile even with large word docs and spreadsheets. I could have loaded it on my 650, but I like it for free installed on my 680!

5. Lots of petty aggravations have been ironed out. Hard to list, just tiny stuff

6. NO battery complaints. People just aren't doing their homework. Do this:

a. condition battery: run all the way down, then charge all the way up

b. turn off beam, turn off bluetooth (unless/until you need them)

c. a biggie: turn off automatic date/time (Go to Prefs, Go to Date and Time, set "Automatically set" to “Nothing”). That's what runs down this phone's power when not in use.

d. turn down screen brightness as far as you can (low-middle's fine for me)

e. Set "Dim backlight after" to 30 seconds

f. Set "Auto-off after" to 15 seconds

g. This didn't apply for me, but someone suggested elsewhere: Turn “Select Network” to MANUAL instead of Automatic (go to Phone > Options > Select Network and click on your carrier)
    Last edited by Chowhound; 01/07/2007 at 02:47 PM. Reason: added one!
    Global Posts
    384 Global Posts
    If you had read any one of the many threads on battery life here, you'd realize that we've all tried all of your suggestions and more. So it might not be a good idea to accuse people of not doing their homework.
    mrjoec
    www.joecieplinski.com
  3.    #3  
    It's a new enough model that there are not multiple generations of hardware or firmware. So we're all using pretty much the same thing here. And my 680 is only marginally thirstier than my 650.