1.    #1  
    Newbie here. Sorry if this has been asked before.

I'm deciding between the treo and blackberry. Your help is appreciated.

I travel overseas a lot and need a GSM phone that has readily available email and can wirelessly hook up to the internet. Is that possible with either the treo or blackberry?

Also, what's "push email" and do I need that for travelling overseas or accessing my email accounts on yahoo or gmail?

Thanks for you help,
    Raz
    Quote Originally Posted by raztec View Post
    I travel overseas a lot and need a GSM phone that has readily available email and can wirelessly hook up to the internet. Is that possible with either the treo or blackberry?

Also, what's "push email" and do I need that for travelling overseas or accessing my email accounts on yahoo or gmail?
    A Treo and a Blackberry can both access email or Web on GSM networks. The Blackberry is more limited in what it can do with e.g. attachments, and I understand it's a bit more difficult to use as a tethered modem via Bluetooth.

Push email means that the message is "pushed" to your device by the mail server, instead of your device "pulling" the email from the server. Blackberry uses a proprietary mail protocol to do this. Microsoft now has a different proprietary protocol to do something similar, and certain email programs available for PalmOS (Chatteremail, for example) can mimic push email using the IMAP mail protocol's IDLE command.

Not all email providers support IMAP (GMail doesn't, not sure about Yahoo), but you can forward all your accounts to an account that does.
    Last edited by johnacraft; 12/16/2006 at 08:07 AM.
  3.    #3  
    That's brilliant info thanks.

Last question. Has anyone travelled with either phone overseas much?

If so, could you tell me which works better the treo or blackberry on overseas networks when it comes to email?