1.    #1  
    I am new to GPS and will likely be an infrequent user. Therefore I think I would probably do fine with one of the lower cost, make your own PDA GPS kits. I am looking for any experience anybody has with software, GPS receivers, general 700P compatability, mounting kits, etc.
    Some general Treo questions.
    Is screen size adequate for 50 year old eyes?
    Is speaker volume on the Treo adequate or does one need one of the dedicated cradles with built in speakers?
    Thanks in advance
    Global Posts
    442 Global Posts
    As a 48 year old...NO! Unless you use reading glasses and want to spend a lot of time staring at the screen..
    The visibility is fine for looking up a number or name, but if you want to use GPS for navigation and looking at a map that is moving, I don't think the view screen is adequate.
    I use my wife's TomTom GPS unit which is larger.
    As to the speaker, I prefer the TomTom.
    My advice, wait until Dec. 26 and look for a TomTom, Garmin or Magellan.
    For the cost and all the extras you have to carry around with it you are better off buying a Garmin navigation system. They are on sale around the holiday times and have more functionality in my experience. The sound and visuals on them are a lot better too. Just my 2 cents
    I find the 700p and 650 screens to be too small when using "on the go" and that is the reason I have gone no further than Google Maps on either unit. When I finally do go with GPS, I will also purchase a stand-alone unit. Ben
    Global Posts
    59 Global Posts