Global Posts
    104 Global Posts
    OK, this is what I've succeeded in so far...

There have been some questions raised (by me and others) about the streaming audio and video capabilities of the 680. I was getting very inconsistant results initially. For now I have learned a few things... (discaimer: I am no treo expert, just playing with my first one, but long time palm user, take this for what it is worth)

AUDIO: I have gotten streaming audio to work pretty well. I can listen to .wma files and other windows formats (like .asx, I believe). My initial problems seemed to be not waiting for the page to fully load. If you click too quickly on the link or "play" button you may get an "unsupported format" error. However, when I have returned to the same site and was patient for the whole page to load. It has worked. Last night and this morning I have been able to consistantly stream audio files.

Successful sights:
    BMG Music (little trial samples)
    my daughter's jr high band site (full clasical examples aprox 3 min. each)
    ORB (YES THIS MORNING I HAD ORB WORKING FLAWLESSLY ON MY 680)

Again the key seemed to letting the pages load fully (at least with my daughter's site and orb)

VIDEO: Not so much luck here. I have gotten my 680 to successfully attempt to play back some links, but never well. The word "attempt" is the key. There just isn't enough bandwidth (in my house) to have anything other than random still shots with sound in the background. choppy doesn't even begin to describe it! It tries, but is not successful. perhaps on a clearer day or in a better location, but EDGE speeds just may not cut it! Another problem is the various formats. most video formats don't seem compatible or the browser/website don't communicate well with each other. Either the browser does not make the video a link (as in email attachments in web based mail) or the web site saying I don't have a player plugin installed. so far not much luck...

web sites I've tried: