1.    #1  
    I'm a newbie when it comes to POS. I have never owned a Treo, but I'm considering getting a Treo 680. One of the programs I'm considering using is AOL 3.3 for my AOL email and AIM.

I was reading customer reviews of this program at Handango.com, and a couple of people complained that whenever the Treo went into standby mode (screen off), the data connected ended and AOL signed off. I find this hard to believe since according to the AOL 3.3 documentation, it says it will only sign you off automatically if you are idle for an hour.

I was thinking perhaps there is a setting somewhere on the Treo that allows you to keep the data connection alive even when the phone goes into standby?? Or is this an issue that must be dealt with by the particular software and maybe AOL 3.3 did not address this issue?
    Standby DOES NOT disconnect the data connection on Treo 650
    --
    Aloke
    Cingular GSM
    Software:Treo650-1.17-CNG
    Firmware:01.51 Hardware:A
  3.    #3  
    Is power to the SD card cut off when the 650 goes into standby?

A couple of years ago I had a Pocket PC phone and I remember this was an issue. People that had communication programs (like IM clients) installed on the SD card were having problems when the phone went into standby mode. Eventually it was figured out that you cannot install those type of programs on the SD card since the card would lose power when the phone entered standby mode.
    No, because I use Chatter (the best IMAP client for Palm OS) which saves the e-mails to the SD card. And Chatter works just fine while the Treo is in standby mode.
    --
    Aloke
    Cingular GSM
    Software:Treo650-1.17-CNG
    Firmware:01.51 Hardware:A
    But any program that runs in "standby" needs to be in RAM, and NOT on the card (its data need not be).

Marc
  6.    #6  
    Quote Originally Posted by Chatter View Post
    But any program that runs in "standby" needs to be in RAM, and NOT on the card (its data need not be).

Marc