1.    #1  
    I just got a Treo 700p, and have yet to synchronize it with my Windows PC (at work) or my Mac MDD 867 (at home). I will probably wait to sync with the Mac until I get a copy of The Missing Sync. At work, I have Palm Desktop version 4.1.4 and it contains all of my data from my Palm III (which I've been using since 1999--about time I upgraded!).

Is it safe to just connect the Treo and sync it with the existing installation of Palm Desktop? Do I *need* to install anything from the CD that came with the Treo (Sprint branded, if it matters)? I've read that I should *not* just sync it as it could copy some non-700p files over or something.

What's the conventional wisdom on this issue?

Thanks,

Doug
    Coming atcha from Phil a del phi a

Nokia 6160 --> Sony Ericsson T610 --> Treo 700p
    Hi Doug!!

Do a CLEAN INSTALL

http://treo.discuss.treocentral.com/...ad.php?t=99450

Just swap the numbers in the above instructions:

Treo 600 = your current Palm OS device
    Treo 650 = your new 700P

Cheers, Perry.
    Global Posts
    234 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The UnDoug View Post
    I just got a Treo 700p, and have yet to synchronize it with my Windows PC (at work) or my Mac MDD 867 (at home). I will probably wait to sync with the Mac until I get a copy of The Missing Sync. At work, I have Palm Desktop version 4.1.4 and it contains all of my data from my Palm III (which I've been using since 1999--about time I upgraded!).

Is it safe to just connect the Treo and sync it with the existing installation of Palm Desktop? Do I *need* to install anything from the CD that came with the Treo (Sprint branded, if it matters)? I've read that I should *not* just sync it as it could copy some non-700p files over or something.

What's the conventional wisdom on this issue?

Thanks,

Doug
    NOOOOO!!!!! Clean install by all means. Then re-install your apps as if new.
    Global Posts
    340 Global Posts