1.    #1  
    I've been using a Sidekick II for over two years and I like how it has one central status area that alerts me if I have a new event. For example, at a quick glance (without even unlocking it) I can tell if I have a new email, message from AIM or Yahoo, SMS and so on. I can also zip between all these apps without going "offline" on either one.

I know the Treo 700p can't multitask, but is it possible to be chatting with someone say via Yahoo or AIM, then check and read email without logging out from the chat app(s)? That seems like a basic operation to me and it would seem awkward to have to go "offline" from the chat just to check email.

Another question, since the Treo has the ability to check email, chat, SMS, voicemail and etc... is there a central screen that will let you know you have an email, new SMS and etc all in one place? Or will I have to keep checking each app for new occurances... I know the 700w has a "Today" screen.

Can the email client run all the time? Or do I have to keep opening it each time I need to check email?
    The only email client that I know of that will run all the time is Chatter email, it will run in the background and check IMAP accounts with idle constantly, and pop accounts every specified number of minutes. You can set it to pop up the email on your screen when emails come in.
    There are a few chat apps that will keep runing while you switch out and do other things. You switch out, when a new IM comes in, it pops up on the screen until you go back into the app, then you're back in regular chat display.
    The phone screen has the dialpad, number of unread emails, number of unread text messages, voicemail indicator, time, date, next upcoming event in the calendar all listed.

Does this answer your question or can I explain any more?
  3.    #3  
    So it keeps tabs of number of unread emails? Meaning it's downloading the emails even though the email app isn't upfront?