1.    #1  
    USB Hotsync problems (a possible solution path)

Like MANY, I have often had Hotsync problems.
    This time when I pressed the Hotsync button, WinXP gave 3 beeps and no sync. It was a problem with my Hotsync drivers in Win XP. Others have posted similar solutions (Thank You! Too many to credit), so I thought I'd detail some here. Now I'm no expert, so please comment if I'm wrong or if you can add better or more info! (perhaps this may qualify as a sticky)

I don't think the 3 beep problem requires reinstalling software or a new cable.
    But, in general be sure your installation is correct (see far below) and updated following trail in http://www.palm.com/us/support/index.html )

Usually, for Hotsync problems, start at Palm's
    http://kb.palmone.com/SRVS/CGI-BIN/W....tem,CASE=2630

If it still doesn't work at the end, the below will continue you to the final 3 beep solution.

CONFIRMATION of this particular driver problem:

This assumes all contacts are bright and shinny! (clean with an eraser or scrub with high % alcohol using a Q-tip or toothbrush)

1) Connect Palm handheld to USB port (cable/cradle)

2) Start Hotsync (open Palm Desktop see if the Hotsync menu works)

3) Open "Computer Management" [Start > Run > {type} compmgmt.msc (OK)]
    OR in Win XP, click Start, and then click Control Panel. Click Performance and Maintenance, and then click System. On the Hardware tab, click Device Manager.
    OR right click "My Computer" and go to Properties and then click the Hardware tab and then the Device Manager button

4) Click Device Manager in left window. Note "device list" on right in alphabetical order (find "Ports")
    {The next steps will last only a few seconds so click fast!}

5) Start Hotsync on handheld

6) Note in "device list" "Palm OS Handheld Devices" (before "Ports")

7) Double-Click "Palm OS Handheld Devices" to see "Palm Handheld"