1.    #1  
    Hello,

I work in a hospital and would love to own a smartphone with built-in paging capability. Does anyone know of any current or upcoming smartphones with this feature? 'Paging' to my number@pcs.rogers.com is not an option because there are many places within the hospital that do not have good cell phone (?) reception.

Thanks,

Felix
    I'm not sure what frequencies your carrier operates at, but don't pager networks operate at 900MHz? So isn't it possible to implement the FLEX protocol carrier side if they already operate on the same band?

3.    #3  
    Yes, the Rogers network operates at 900Mhz. Now, how do I "implement the FLEX protocol??" I would greatly appreciate your advice.
    Well client side would be done in software. It would have to be implemented by Rogers as well. If they already run on that band, I can't imagine why they wouldn't have that capability.

It just occured to me that pager devices may modulate their signals in a manner different than the CDMA radio in your Treo. Therefore the hardware would not be compliant with the network, should it exist. And upon further analysis, I would think the pager on the same frequency as the phone could possibly cause interference and effectively reduce the signal strength for both devices. It would be a good reason as to why paging isn't implemented on their network or in any smartphone I can think of. I'm afraid you'll have to resort to two separate devices.

Have 'em call your phone - and don't answer it! But before doing that, does your provider have a voice mail option for only paging, no voice mail? Ben
    But if he doesn't have service, he can't get the little page thingy (for lack of better terminology )... right?

Bottom line is that pagers are much more reliable at receiving signals than cell phones. If you can't live with delays when you have no or weak service, get a pager.