1.    #1  
    How?? Im just curious how I can use my phone as a modem. I read I can do it. Is this mainly for use with Laptops? I have one but its already wireless. I would like to use it on my home computer. is this possible? Will I need a wireless card installed in my computer? Any special kind?

Im assuming I just plug it in using the usb cable that came with the phone, right? But then it wouldnt be wireless

Thanks for any help. my bad if this had been discussed 1000 times! Im a newbie
    You seriously didnt post this...Let the flames begin. ha
  3.    #3  
    Quote Originally Posted by bigblue4ever
    You seriously didnt post this...Let the flames begin. ha
    If you have enough time to "flame" me, do what you do, partna. If you dont wanna answer, move on. Wont hurt me any
    Global Posts
    883 Global Posts
    You can do a search and will find several threads on the subject (people around here get upset when new users don't do a seach first). Try search terms such as "PAM," "Phone as Modem," "PDANet," and "Hack."

That being said, there are several approaches to using your "Phone as a Modem." The recomended thing to do is have the appropriate plan with your cell phone provider. Next you would need a way to connect your phone to your computer (desktop or laptop). You could use either the USB connection or Bluetooth (no need for a wifi card). There should be connection software on your install cd.

Of course there are other ways to connect without paying extra for a Phone as a Modem plan. However, using those other methods would most likely violate the terms of your contract and may (or may not) result in paying excessive charges.
    Visor --> Visor Platinum --> Treo 300 --> Treo 600 --> Treo 650 --> Treo 700p --> Treo 755p --> Treo 800w --> Palm Pre
    You should do a search, but to answer: