Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    There is a site from Canada by Steve Punter, an audiophile, where he discusses in great detail a large number of phones from the perspective of an audiophile. NOT the music, but the human spoken word, both incoming and outgoing. I love all the extras, but business requires me to have excellent audio vocal quality on both ends.

He said he cannot recommend a single site to me that would apply in the US market! His reviews are purely for the Canadian market.

Apparently most folks are not that interested in the quality of the voice, preferring a good game to a flawlessly heard conversation. i am in the minority, an audiophile of sorts.

How does the 650 measure up in this audio regard- ( all things being equal- best provider a given ) ?
    Are there applications to alter via EQ the tonal balance of the ingoing and outgoing voice? I am new to all this. I have searched to no avail.
    Can the Treo stand up to a dedicated phone audio wise?

Thank you
    Last edited by telephonitis; 07/08/2006 at 04:46 PM.
    Treo 650 without VolumeCare: definitely not!!
    --
    Aloke
    Cingular GSM
    Software:Treo650-1.17-CNG
    Firmware:01.51 Hardware:A
    Global Posts
    138 Global Posts
    My experience using three 650's on Cingular is that audio quality is not good at all. I don't think Cingular is the problem because recently I made a test call...confirmed poor sound quality...then put my sim in a friends inexpensive phone and repeated the call from the same location. The sound quality was excellent on the cheap phone ...it was every bit as good as a landline.

While VolumeCare helps increase volume the sound quality is still not good. The problem seems to be primarily with the sound quality that people hear when I am talking to them.

The quality is worst when using the speakerphone and almost as bad on bluetooth headset and just using the 650 itself in normal mode.