Global Posts
    19 Global Posts
    Hello,

Forgive the fact that I am a beginner here with a few simple questions.

I have presently have unlimited internet access and believe Sprint calls that Power Vision.

I currently have a Treo 650 and thinking of upgrading to a 700P.

Questions:

1. Can I use the 650 as a modem with my laptop at no additional charge from Sprint. If so, how?

2. Can I use the 700p as a modem with my laptop at no additional charge from Sprint. If so, how?

3. Is Sprint able to see that use (with either phone) and if so, do they care?

4. Is it better/easier/faster to use a USB cable over Bluetooth?

I appreciate your help and suggestions.

Take Care,

JJ

Thanks,

JJ623
    I'm not trying to be rude, so i apologize if it comes off that way, but you really need to do a search. This is been discussed ad nauseum, and there are lots of answers and opinions. No one seems to have a definite answer on getting charged, only anecdotal evidence here and there of some people getting charged and others not.

the easy answer, yes it is possible. But look around, that's what hte forum is for.
    what he ^ said..........
    Global Posts
    19 Global Posts
    Thanks, I have spent time looking but it seems to be a deeper level...how to install the hack, etc.

It seems that everyone is talking about a Bluetooth connection. Is that better/easier/faster than a USB cable?

The other basic question: is it better to stay with the 650 than upgrade to the 700p if I am only considering the "modem factor?"
    Thanks,

JJ623
    well i use my usb cable with the hack, the hack you can email it to yourself and install it from the email attachement, then you use sprint connection manager and it should work without a problem, my usb dongle acts up with my laptop so i dont use it.