Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Global Posts
    82 Global Posts
    I'm a student that's been using my new Sprint 700p for a couple of weeks now and love it! This is my first smartphone.

But holy mother, the software is expensive!!!!!! How much has everyone spent on all their programs? Just curious.

Like, I would love to get VolumeCare but the thought of shelling out over 10 bucks is a little ridiculous. There really needs to be more freeware and the notion that it's only the corporate world that uses smartphones is a little presumptuous.

It's just frustrating because a growing segment of their user base is students and we just don't have the same type of access as everyone else. Maybe, it's just me.
    Last edited by crownzeal; 06/23/2006 at 04:03 AM.
    you gotta pay to play
    Global Posts
    82 Global Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by trim81
    you gotta pay to play
    See, that's what I mean. I have a computer at home and search out alternative programs/options whenever they're available. I'm frugal.

The 700p is also a little computer essentially and developers are just making these all fee based. I'm just questioning why that's the case.
    I agree... I wish there was more freeware for the Palm platform.
    Global Posts
    538 Global Posts
    here here
    the hardware is useless without the software
    and the software is useless without the data.

Though you are buying the phone hardware, you
    are also paying for the preloaded software.
    You also need to take into consideration that many of us aren't buying all these programs at once because this isn't our first Treo. I started buying slowly from when I got my 600 to my 650 to my 700p. I am always on the lookout for a freeware alternative when possible.
    Treo 600 > Treo 650 > Treo 700p > Treo 700wx -> Mogul -> Touch Pro
    You may like to flash, but your phone shouldn't. LED Killer
    Quote Originally Posted by stroths