1.    #1  
    undefinedundefined
    I purchased a treo 650 on ebay and it it a GSM unlocked but it is Cingular branded. I can make calls with my T-Mobile sim card in it, but I am wondering what updater to use?
    Phone info states: Hardware:A
    Firmware: 01.05
    Software: 1.04-CNG

Please help...
    Global Posts
    984 Global Posts
    You'll have to use the CiNG updater unless you "de-brand" it by installing an old beta unbranded update (1.23, I recall?) and then installing a current unbranded update.
    Just go with the latest CNG updater if you are not inclined to do messing around...
    (Subsidy Unlock status will not change)
  4.    #4  
    Quote Originally Posted by holmes4
    You'll have to use the CiNG updater unless you "de-brand" it by installing an old beta unbranded update (1.23, I recall?) and then installing a current unbranded update.
    forgive me, but I am still very new to the world of Treo 650 and all this update stuff. How do I locate the old beta unbranded update?
    Quote Originally Posted by paulig13
    forgive me, but I am still very new to the world of Treo 650 and all this update stuff. How do I locate the old beta unbranded update?
    Do a search on this forum and you should find something. However, I would STRONGLY suggest against it. The reason I say that is I killed a Cingular 650 doing this. It would not even power on, allow a zero reset or anything. I had to send it back to palm. I am not the only one who did this either based on other posts I have read.

I would keep the Cingular ROM and do the latest 1.17 upgrade. If you really want to unbrand it, refer to the thread below:

http://discussion.treocentral.com/sh...hlight=unbrand
    Treo 600 > Treo 650 > Treo 700p > Treo 700wx -> Mogul -> Touch Pro
    You may like to flash, but your phone shouldn't. LED Killer