1.    #1  
    i am new to the treo world
    (just got a 650 w/ cingular)
    i have my e-mail account w/yahoo
    and set up versamail to talk to yahoo via pop
    but it sounds like imap is better (more efficient, faster ect....)
    i don't think yahoo supports imap, so will chatter or fastmail
    give me imap and let me keep my current e-mail adress
    i hope thats not too dumb a question
    thanx
    jenkzy
    Chatter is just a client (like Outlook, T-Bird, etc...) and supports IMAP, but in of itself does not give you IMAP. Your email server needs to offer IMAP.

So...if your email host offers IMAP, Chatter can take advantage of this. The big free online providers (Y!, Gmail, Hotmail) don't offer IMAP. But there are several places that do. Fastmail does, and offers it free. (Some limitations.) I've used it in the past, but it became more and more unreliable.
    MaxiMunK.com The Forum That Asks, "Are You Not Entertained?"

Remember: "Anyone that thinks the Treo should just work right out of the box, shouldn't own a Treo..."
  3.    #3  
    thanx for the info
    i will look into fastmail
    jenkzy
    You should also look into Everyone.net . They provide IMAP support and are a very reliable email provider.
    CGordonn
    SPCS Treo 700p
    Virginia Beach, VA but home will
    always be Honolulu, HI
    I have a paid subscription level with Fastmail and have had no issues on reliability. Down time is inevitible with everything and there is not a company out there that has not experienced down time. In the last four years there have been two outages in my area and those have been for very short periods of time.

With Fastmail I have good response times. With the laptop on at home and logged in via the home network, email hits just as fast as with another one. There are times it hits the Treo first and other times the laptop.

Ben
  6.    #6  
    thanx for all the input
    so if i understand this correctly,