1.    #1  
    I'm new to the 650, and did a search but didn't find any other threads with this issue.

When playing mp3s through ptunes, I get really nasty distortion. I've confirmed that the volume boost is "off," and am not sure what else to do. I'm using a set of relatively high-end Sony earbuds, so that's not the problem. Also, the music sounds fine using the pre-installed Real player software. I much prefer the features and interface of ptunes over the plain vanilla Real player -- but can't get past the sound. Any tips would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
    Try turning the equalizer off and see if that makes any difference. If it does, you might check the settings of the equalizer.
    Funny you ask this today, because I've been wrestling with this problem for a while, and I *think* I figured out a fix. I have Shure i2c-t headphones, and my sound just sucked from PTunes, but Real was fine. But this morning, while stuck sitting in a car repair place with nothing to do but fiddle with my Treo, I turned *ON* the volume boost in PTunes, and the distortion went away.

I just tried again, played a tune with Real and it sounded fine, switched to Pocket Tunes with the volume boost on, and it sounded fine too. Interestingly, turning the volume boost off did not cause distortion. But it was there this morning, so bad I had to EQ out the bass to get any volume at all. And it had been there for months prior to today.

And before you ask, yes, I'm also using the EQ. I have the volume boost set to +6...... which then makes the sound PTunes produces about the same volume as Real.

HTH.....

-TR1
    Handspring Prism ---> PalmOne Treo650
  4.    #4  
    I'm glad to hear that someone else had the same problem--good to know I'm not crazy.