Hi folks,

I've been hunting on and off for a few years for a pda case that also has a cable lock attached to it in such a way that you can secure it the same way you'd secure a laptop. In other words... what I'd like to have is a hard Treo case (for my 650) that has a clasp on it and a small padlock on that clasp to keep people from opening the case and taking the Treo. I also want it to have a cable lock that I can loop around my desk leg. I don't care how ugly it is as long as it delays or deters a potential thief and still allows me to use the Treo without having to unsecure it.

I thought about somehow making one by attaching metal clasps to a hard case using superglue so that I can use both a padlock and a cable lock...somehow... Obviously I don't have it all figured out yet.

Anyway, is there anyone here who has tried such a thing and is willing to admit it? I know about Cradle Robber and will try that on my 650 when I get it, but I was very much hoping for a hardware solution as well.

TIA
    Global Posts
    326 Global Posts
    A Treo will fit inside a RhinoSkin 1100, and you can secure the zippers shut, and use a cable to lock the entire case to a desk. It's not a perfectly secure solution, but it will prevent casual crooks from lifting your Treo out of a hotel room, for example. You can view the RhinoSkin case at http://www.saunders-usa.com/rhinoski...nd=13&model=63

There are other RhinoSkin cases that you can use, too. What makes the RhinoSkins function as a secure case is the zippers that you can lock with a small padlock or a cable.
    Might be easier to just rivet a couple of metal loops onto a metal hard shell casing. I don't know how much space is available on the inside of one, but I would imagine that if you're willing to risk some scratching you might be able to make something like that work.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    If at first you don't succeed...skydiving is not for you.