1.    #1  
    Even though I've been following discussions on treocentral for years, this is the first time I feel compelled to post a message.

I've been using Palm devices since 1998, and I currently use an unlocked GSM Treo 650. A few days ago, in the middle of a phone call, my screen got all blurry and the keyboard became inoperative. I had completely lost control of my device. I tried a soft reset, nothing. So I removed the battery. The initial Palm screen would come up, but after anywhere from 1 to 5 seconds, the screen would go all blurry again, and the boot process would stop.

I figured the device was a goner, so I put it in my briefcase (with the battery removed) and went about my business. A couple of hours later, I put the battery back in, and, to my amazement, everything worked fine. For the next 2 days, I had no problems. Still, I searched all the online forums I could think of, but couldn't find anything similar to this. So I called PalmOne Support. They suggested it might be third party software issue and suggested a hard reset if the problem reappears.

Sure enough, the next day the problem came back. This time it was much more random with a cycle that can be described as follows:
    - remove the battery repeatedly until the device boots up (sometimes it took 3 tries, sometimes 15 or more);
    - use the device until it fails again (anywhere from a few minutes to a day or more);
    - repeat.

I performed a hard reset, but that didn't seem to make any difference; I had the same problem even when the device was fresh from the hard reset (before any HotSync operations were done). So I called PalmOne again, and initiated an Advanced Exchange (fortunately, my warranty is still in effect, but just barely). In the meantime, I've gone back to using my old Nokia cellphone, which now seems ancient by comparison.