1. dme
    Wasn't sure whether this should go here or in "Accessories," but I thought more people might see it here:

I am a college professor who is thinking about podcasting my lectures next semester. It occurred to me that I might be able to use my new Treo 650 to record my lectures. I know the Treo can record voice memos, but I'm not sure what to use for a microphone. So:

(a) How's the voice recording quality on the Treo? Will the Treo balk at me trying to record a 75 minute lecture to an SD card?

(b) Does anybody know of a good external microphone to use? Ideally, I'd love a lapel mic that I could plug into the Treo and record directly to the Treo. Or I suppose even a wireless mic would work. Could I use a BT headset to record to the Treo?

Thanks for your help.
    As far as I know, only commercial voice recording software can record directly to the SD card in real-time. Here's one worth trying:
    http://software.treonauts.com/product.asp?id=827

Fortunately the memory requirements of compressed voice are relatively modest if a good codec is used. If you use a codec designed for speech (not for music), then 8kbps is sufficient. This means that your 75 minute lecture will only consume about 5MB.

I have little experience with respect to recording voice and using mics on the Treo, but I have a fair amount of experience with (desktop) voice recognition software and mics.

I think that a lavalier mic (aka a lapel mic) is a good solution for you, although you might also consider a traditional wired computer headset. Using bluetooth will leave you very frustrated with regard to voice quality.

I recommend talking to the folks at emicrophones.com. I have no affiliation with them, etc., but have used them for voice recognition microphones.

Don't forget to use the Seidio 2.5->3.5mm adapter, not the Palm one.

HTH...
  3. dme
    Thanks, Jae. Sorry for the noob questions, but I just want to try and make sure I have this correct.