1.    #1  
    If I am having crashes, losing Saved Preferences (and unsaved Preferences), and suspecting some corruption in these files, is it OK to delete them (using FileZ).

I have a sheet with all my registration codes. So, entering those will not be a big deal. I suppose I'll also have to re-select some program options. I can do that as well.

But, is there some fundamental risk or downside to deleting these preferences files? Will it screw-up the Uninstall Manager functionality?
    --
    Aloke
    Cingular GSM
    Software:Treo650-1.17-CNG
    Firmware:01.51 Hardware:A
    Got Backup?

Give it a shot. I have no personal experience in this regard -- but I have seen "delete" your saved preferences file as a recommendation before on this board. Uninstall Manager could be an issue, depending on how it tracks things.

Anyone?

Cheers, Perry.
    Dunno about the Uninstall program, but I personally a month or two ago backed up my [Un]Saved Preferences and went through in Resco I think and deleted EVERY unknown entry, leaving only those that had associated programs behind. Made both of them half as large.

I hadn't had any specific instability though, I just wanted to clean them up as there were hundreds of unknown entries.

A lot of them were 'hidden' trial dates long gone, a lot of them were hidden stuff from current programs (5-6 things needed to be re-registered), and about half my Preferences got lost (apparently they weren't associated with a specific program and thus Unknown) but overall I think it was worth it to do a little house cleaning.

If you've always used Uninstall, then this might not be an issue for you.

BTW I haven't lost any databases (zlauncher categories, [un]saved prefs, etc) since I started using Resco Locker. If you haven't, use it.