webOS Nation Forums >  webOS Devices >  Other OS's and Devices > I think I might have found the first acceptable replacement for WebOS
I think I might have found the first acceptable replacement for WebOS
Like Tree35Likes

Old 02/19/2013, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

While I would prefer to stick with Webos doesn't seem like it will be a valid choice in the near future (next year). Currently the alternatives to WebOs are pretty bad. Android and IOS are kind of a joke in comparison to webos' user experience and Windows 8 isn't much better. Yeah they have apps but if getting around to them is a pain what is the point? That is my personal opinion.

I have been using a Pre- for the past 3+ years(on sprint), have a few Touchpads only running webos, and a Pre 2, I have developed apps and championed Webos to everyone and anyone willing to listen. I have not been impressed at all by other systems. I have been kind of worried where I may go once all my WebOS devices die.

This is the first time I feel like there is an acceptable alternative. and it happens to come from an OS that I moved away from after using for a few years (move to different linux distro).

Ubuntu seems have a lot of qualities that WebOS has and improves on more of them. Some examples are gestures (how to see your favorite apps similar to launch bar/wave bar), swiping to delete (used in notification ), notifications and setting in top left with pull down drawer, search from home screen(just type). Where they have improved includes the ability to display two apps on the screen at 1 time(side stage), The ability for multiple account on the tablet, the ability to run full desktop apps. The ecosystem across different devices from smartphones, tablets, computers to TVs, is the best out their right now.

Another bonus for me is that it is Open Source

There is one main thing that would make it even better, and that would be apps as cards, those darn cards make multitasking so simple on touch devices.