1.    #1  
    I have spent so much time lurking on these boards that I'm ashamed to admit it. It's kind of sad how much the allure of a new gadget can overtake someone's life! But I was hoping to rely on the expertise of the crew here for some advice!

I am a medical resident looking for a new phone. Requirements include:

1. Cingular service (my girlfriend has AT&T, and those free mobile to mobile minutes definitely help when you're long distance).

2. Bluetooth (hopefully gone are the days when I had to type all my phonebook entries by hand using the T9 phone system)

3. Mac compatible (new owner of a Mac mini. Would love to use the phone's BT capabilities. I am amenable to Pocket PC's as well, considering the mac compatiblity software out there).

4. Smartphone capability. Initially this is why I was sold on the Treo 650. I thought it would be the perfect convergence device: I could have drug databases (Epocrates), conference reminders, and a phone in one device and look cool by having a five pound brick clipped to my belt! I have a semi-ancient Palm Vx, which has served me well, but it would be nice to get rid of one device.

5. Internet capability. I am by no means a power user. I will NOT be checking my stocks every five minutes, or negotiating mergers and acquisitions on the phone. But wouldn't it be cool if you could check movie times and / or directions when you're lost on the road?

6. Most importantly, a phone that works! I've been scarred by reading about all the troubles that phone/pda or phones can have. My number one priority is to have a phone that gets good reception and phone calls.

My thoughts:
    Treo 650 (Pros: everything I need. Cons: size, PDA versus phone.

SMT 5600 (Pros: everything I need. Small size. Cons: I think this would take some work. My understanding is I would have to buy the phone off of Ebay, then unlock it, and add a Cingular chip).