Global Posts
    207 Global Posts
    I finally got tired of hearing all the promises made by everyone regarding the release date of the GSM 650 and just bought a Motorola MPx220 from Cingular ($299). I've had a GSM T600 for a while and like it but I really need a phone/pda rather than a pda/phone. I need the pda functionality to carry around my Outlook files from work and occasionally do some web browsing and retrieve POP3 email.

I got an SX66 from Cingular 2 weeks ago and loaded everything on it. It is ABSOLUTELY a wonderful device, wifi and all! Its was just too big for me to carry around on my belt. I am an electrical engineer for a power company by trade and what some would call a "power user" for most technology. Once I got over the WOW factor for the SX66 and used it for 2 weeks I just found the "heft" to outweigh the benefits of all the extra stuff on the device. For some the size is ok, for me it was just too large. So alas, I returned it and got the MPx220.

The screen size is smaller than on the T600 but I wanted a compact device and the screen is sharp enough and large enough for my needs. It won't satisfy everyone's needs but for me its fine.

I like the clamshell case design in my previous cellphones and this one has that, for me it is a plus.

I have to say that so far I really like it. I can open Word, Excel, and PDF files using the native viewer (from Piescel, like what was included on my Clie I had before my T600). The screen is definitely smaller but with this viewer you can zoom in and scroll vertically and horizontally.