Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I've been looking forward to getting a Touchpad since before it was announced. I've got cash set aside in my dresser for it, in fact. Recently something hit me, though, that is making me think I might just get an iPad.

I'm a VCU graduate, and there was obviously great excitement over the NCAA tourney. A buddy of mine and I watched some of one of the games on his iPad2 using the CBS March Madness app. I thought to myself,"this would be awesome on a Touchpad". But, alas ... that app and thousands of others like it won't be avail on the Touchpad.

What it comes down to is this - if you're making an app ... what platform are you going to make it for? Obviously you make it for the one with the 80% market share. And ... since everyone is making apps for that platform, more people will buy into that platform to take advantage. It's sort of a self-fulfilling prophesy.

I'm disappointed because I love webOS, but it seems to me that if I want to be able to enjoy the latest game, productivity, and entertainment apps, there's no sense in buying a Touchpad.

If you think I'm wrong, please let me know. I'd love nothing more than to be proven wrong here!

-- Sent from my Palm Pre using Forums
    I can see your reservation, but then I've tried iPad2 and don't see what all the excitement is all about?

Yes they have plenty of apps and everyone knows it, but it is still limited directly by Apple and IOS. Have you tried what Apple calls Multitasking? Not very intuitive and almost as if they didn't put any thought into it.

Yes I can always hack it and maybe make it better like we do on our Pre's, but doing this voids your warranty with Apple and I can not imagine having a tablet without warranty. Actually, hacking webOS probably void your warranty as well, but at least HP is more open then anyone else.