Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    I'm no computer engineer or whatever you have to be work somewhere like HP/Palm or Apple. However, it always baffles me as to why other companies simply can't seem to catch up to Apple in the specs department. Again, I really don't know anything about this stuff, but do the only people who know how to make a device thinner, lighter or faste work at Apple? If it needs to be faster, put a faster processor in it. Everyone on the planet knew Apple would make the iPad2 thinner and lighter than the original iPad, so why didn't HP/Palm take that into consideration? If they weren't going to go at least a little thinner than the original iPad, then why even bother? Not that thin and light are the only spec that matters, but that's just a simple thing that everyone had a basic idea of what Apple would do and that Apple will make a big selling point out of. It wasn't a surprise. I guess I'm just curious why, from the technical side of things, companies just don't anticipate better and try to release something that's actually superior to Apple. Everyone just seems happy with getting something that's close to an Apple product.
    Quote Originally Posted by YankBoy View Post
    ... I guess I'm just curious why, from the technical side of things, companies just don't anticipate better and try to release something that's actually superior to Apple. Everyone just seems happy with getting something that's close to an Apple product.
    You're making the assumption that the features Apple offers are the exact features everyone wants. It's simply not the case. Apple doesn't offer the greates in all spec categories. Every "plus" in one area, comes with a "minus" in another.

Apple places a high importance on being the thinnest. It does make for some great marketing, and some people that's high on their list.

Other companies, it's not the most important, because for some people, it's not the most important.