Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1.    #1  
    First, this thread is not intended to be flame bait, so put those flamethrowers down. This is not about why you hate some other company, unless that is the only reason for your current loyalty.

Everyone around here knows that I am an Apple supporter, for the most part. What you may not know is that has not always been the case. I bought my first Mac in 2002, and never looked back.

Before that, I was all Windows, all the time. I settled for most MS solutions. I owned a Creative MP3 player. I even owned Palm-based products. Did I mention HP? In other words, I was an average tech consumer. I used some of everything and cared about spec-sheets and price. I was loyal to nothing.

That all changed when I bought my first Mac. The hardware and OS were filled with so many little touches of class and usability, the experience was miles ahead of anything I had ever used before. Apple clearly thought about the end user in ways that other companies didn't.

I didn't jump on the iPod right away. I couldn't understand why I should ditch my Creative player. The Price and spec-sheet didn't add up. I eventually used one. Suddenly, it all made sense in ways that did not show up on a spec-sheet. Bag on iTunes all you like. It revolutionized music management on a computer. Again, Apple's attention to detail won me over.

When the iPhone was first announced, I had no interest. I was an unhappy Sprint customer, but figured that all phones and all carriers were equally bad. In some ways, I was pushed into the iPhone because Sprint was so bad, I just couldn't stand it. Apple provided an alternative to the way things were done in that industry. Think back on the pre-iPhone days. It was bad. I bought my first iPhone and never looked back.

Hello, iPad.