Global Posts
    48 Global Posts
    My original Pre finally bit the dust. I used Black Tie to get a refurb'd unit but BB wouldn't budge and exchanged me to the Epic. Some observations:

Palm OS is waaaay nicer than Android. Android is bulky and a PITA to navigate around in. I really miss my Pre because of this. Having cards is a beautiful thing and with Android you need to access a task manager to turn anything off (which then runs in the background, eating battery life. Note: being a newbie I may be missing something on this.) Accessing anything involves multiple buttons and icons in both directions. Pre hands down for OS.

The hardware itself literally blows the Pre away. I just used my wife's Pre and I can't believe how cheap it feels and how tiny it is (which I didn't mind before, but now cannot go back to inferior hardware.) There are some really nice functions on the Epic/Android system which far surpass the Pre, even with homebrew. The Pre does, however, give you much more control of settings for the device itself, which is part of the OS equation.

I have my fingers crossed for a new HPalm device (I still have my upgrade available from Sprint...bonus) because I will go back in a heartbeat. Until then, I will enjoy using the superior hardware and more mature features of Android and bide my time.

One other thing: The Pre community is in class of its own, something I will miss, as well.
    my fingers are crossed for some new hardware too. fortunately, a plan i had to trade in my beat up pre for another one while i was still inside the last month of my one year mark worked out perfectly. no oreo even! lol